Wake Forest NC – Air Freshener Tips, Homemade Potpourri Recipe and THEY’RE GREEN!

Green Living TipsIf you are looking for a great air freshener/fragrance don’t run to the store and buy it – MAKE IT!  There are quite a few recipes on line and tips as well.  I wanted to share one that my mother gave to me and it is WONDERFUL!  Thanks Mom! Love you – I’ll call soon!

Stove Top Potpourri

1 orange, sliced

1 lemon, sliced

2 cinnamon sticks broken up

15-20 cloves

water just to cover.

Place all ingredients in a simmer pot and gently simmer.  Never leave a simmer pot unattended and check periodically for the water level to be sure that the ingredients are not drying out.  

My mom had bought me the cutest simmer pot for Christmas a few years ago that was from Claire Burke and it came with a bottle of simmering oil.  While I absolutely adore Claire Burke products I found the natural potpourri recipe that my mom attached even better!  I hope you enjoy as well!

In addition to my recipe there are many other things that you can do.

  • You can hang herbs to dry with attractive ribbons attached.
  • Place a tiny amount of essential oil such as lavender or bergamot or even vanilla extract on cotton balls and place them around your home (be sure to avoid fabrics!)
  • Slice up some fruit and BAKE it!  (Only at 170 degrees though and for SHORT periods of time such as 1-2 hours and BE SURE to turn the fruit over every now and then)

There are so many options to making a home smell good WITHOUT spending the money on chemicals!  Be good to our planet – it’s the only one we have.  

Leave a Reply

